Top Ten Tuesday: Fandoms

Top Ten Tuesdays is a weekly feature created by The Broke and The Bookish. With my list I am trying to stay away from fandoms that are purely book-related and have instead chose fandoms that have other elements for example if the fandom stemmed from a book it has to have grown since then with the help of adaptations etc in order for it to be included in this list.

51btpsx2e7l-_sy344_bo1204203200_   7544945

Death note- This is a relatively new fandom for me. I watched some of the anime first and then purchased Vol I and II of the bind-up Black Editions. This is a crime manga which is essentially a cat and mouse chase, only, both the cat and mouse have arguably the smartest minds in existence. It is a supernatural story with two very intelligent and very human main characters. It will entertain you and keep your attention. I love the supernatural world Ohba and Obata depict with the Shinigami; the Gods of Death.

 

51h-9hGAlyL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_   image3  image4

Tokyo Ghoul- Another manga featuring the supernatural. Another thoroughly entertaining supernatural setting that features Ghouls and Ghoul districts. I have yet to read every published volume but so far each volume has been as good as the last. I also haven’t watched the anime.

 

IMG_0288

Game of Thrones- I have watched the books and seen the show and I believe they both have flaws. There are certain perspectives in the books for example Davos that I just found boring, there are so many characters that it is inevitable to find some that you don’t enjoy reading about. The show also went down-hill for a while in my opinion. My favourite series was season 4. I personally enjoyed the arguably cheap-trick of leaving each episode on a cliffhanger. However the momentum is building as you can sense the story coming to its end. I also enjoy watching Thronecast.

 

 

The US Office- I like a lot of TV shows but The American Office is one that I can watch time and time again and not get bored of. This is because of the writing but also how real the characters are, the characters never make any decisions purely for the sake of plot. I am also huge fans of B.J Novak and Mindy Kaling who both had very important roles in the making of the show. I love how creative the cast are, acting and writing. There was lots of impovising and you can tell because the episodes flow naturally.

 

Teen Mom- I have been watching the families in Teen Mom OG and Teen Mom 2 since their 16 and Pregnant episodes. So I have been watching the franchise for a long time. I did also watch Teen Mom UK which was ok but had a far smaller budget. My favourite Teen Moms of the franchise are Chelsea from Teen Mom 2 and Macy from Teen Mom OG.

 

Disney- Honestly this is my one true fandom. I’ve seen all of the animated classics and most of Disney’s other movies. My favourites are The Hunchback of Notre Dame, Bambi, Snow White and the Seven Dwarves, Atlantis, Lilo and Stitch, Wreck-It Ralph, Tarzan, Mulan, Moana and The Little Mermaid. My favourite Disney short-film is Sanjay’s Superteam. I have watched as many documentaries as possible and subscribe to Thingamavlogs on youtube as well as Sarah Snitch. I know all the nine old men as well as imagineers and modern disney artists/producers/directors and have my favourites in all categories. We’ve been to two Disney Parks but hope to visit them all.

 

X-Men- I have loved the X-Men movies for as long as I remember. I much prefer this branch of Marvel to any other. I love the fact that while superheroes, they are mutants. They suffer for being mutants as well as gain from it. It holds more merit than any other branch of Marvel to me. I know that Guardians of the Galaxy is set in space but, personally, it feels as cringey as the Avengers movies in the sense that it tries too hard to be funny. I guess it’s all down to personal taste.  I will admit that The Last Stand was a terrible movie and I refuse to accept certain aspects of its plot. While the X-Men franchise may be selling out and becoming more like the other Marvel movies, I will still watch all of the adaptations to come. I can’t say that for any other branch of Marvel. Although when considering overall superhero fandoms I also love DC’s Batman. My favourite adaptation being the obvious The Dark Knight, I was not a fan of Batman Begins or Dark Knight Rises and actually prefer some of the older movies to those. I also enjoy the series Gotham.

 

The Lord of The Rings- I’ve yet to read the books! Will this be the year?

 

Pixar- My favourite feature length film by Pixar is definitely Wall.E. I am also a HUGE fan of their short films which is why they have made this list, as well as their importance to the Walt Disney Company. My favourites of their shorts are Piper and La Luna.

 

Family Vloggers- Danny and I have been watching two different family vloggers daily for such a long time. We are fans of the SacconeJolys and ItsJudysLife!

 

Sophie

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Fandoms

  1. I love Teen Mom! It’s one of the only reality TV Shows that I still watch.
    I Watch the family Vloggers Cullen & Katie and Ellie & Jared daily. I’ll have to check out the SacconeJolys!
    It’s weird how I’m invested and interested in someone’s daily life, lol.
    Great TTT! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

