Love it or Hate it Book Tag

 

3 of your favourite books?

319ztqJM5yL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_ IMG_0108 000d6385-614.jpg

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

This Side of Paradise by F. Scott Fitzgerald

The Graduate by Charles Webb

3 of your least favourite books?

Paper Towns by John Green

Blow Your House Down by Pat Barker

The Shock of The Fall by Nathan Filer

3 of your favourite characters?

Hassan from The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

Hans from The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Mary Lennox from The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

3 least favourite characters?

Anyone/Everyone written by John Green and Sarah Waters.

Biggest let-down?

gone-girl-book-cover.jpg

 

Books that you liked that other people hated?

Frankenstein was pretty unpopular throughout my education. I also loved The Catcher in the Rye by J.D Salinger which is famous for dividing opinion.

Characters that people love but you hated?

Again, every John Green character. I also did not care for Elizabeth or Darcy to put it lightly. This tag is practically the Unpopular Opinions tag part two.

Best Quotes?

I’m generally not good at remembering quotes offhand when asked, here are a few memorable ones:

“The books that the world calls immoral are books that show the world its own shame.”
― Oscar WildeThe Picture of Dorian Gray

“It was always the becoming he dreamed of, never the being.”
― F. Scott FitzgeraldThis Side of Paradise

“We were together. I forget the rest.”
― Walt Whitman

“The fool doth think he is wise, but the wise man knows himself to be a fool.”
― William ShakespeareAs You Like It

“But luxury has never appealed to me, I like simple things, books, being alone, or with somebody who understands.”
― Daphne du Maurier

Worst Quotes?

“As he read, I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, and then all at once.”
― John GreenThe Fault in Our Stars …..“My thoughts are stars I cannot fathom into constellations.”― John GreenThe Fault in Our Stars.  “So I walked back to my room and collapsed on the bottom bunk, thinking that if people were rain, I was drizzle and she was a hurricane.” ― John GreenLooking for AlaskaIf I had to give one reason why I dislike John Green it’s his obsession with poor metaphors, and his need to explain that they are metaphors.

Ok so this is a weird one but it makes me uncomfortable: “Isn’t it nice to think that tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it yet?” ― L.M. Montgomery. I think it’s the ‘yet.’

“If you’re looking for sympathy you’ll find it between shit and syphilis in the dictionary.”
― David SedarisBarrel Fever: Stories and Essays

Books you didn’t finish?

Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

 

What book have you read the most times?

In all honesty it would definitely be The Cat in the Hat by Dr Seuss.

 

Series where the first book was amazing but went downhill from there?

The MaddAddam Trilogy by Margaret Atwood. I read these last year and while I enjoyed the first novel I hated the others. My ratings on Goodreads actually halved with each instalment.

 

Sophie

3 thoughts on “Love it or Hate it Book Tag

Leave a Reply

