5 Books I am dying to Read

The top 5 Books I am most looking forward to reading this year

I have been challenged to read many books this year and I really hope to complete them all by the end of the year. But which books do I want to read the most?

  1. Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

Screen Shot 2017-03-07 at 22.53.33

This is actually one of the books I have been challenged to read this year which is really convenient. I have wanted to read a Dickens for so long and just never gotten round to it. I have already discussed my thoughts on the book but just getting my first Dickens under my belt is really exciting.

  1. The Resurrectionist by James Bradley

Screen Shot 2017-03-07 at 22.54.15

I bought this book shortly after completing my dissertation on Grave-robbing Laws in England and Wales in the 19th Century. I of course am very interested in the subject, as I wouldn’t have written my 15,000-word dissertation on it. I cannot wait to pick this up and see what the idea is behind the novel.

  1. A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

Screen Shot 2017-03-07 at 22.55.53

I actually bought this for Sophie as a Christmas Present along with the other shortlisted Man Booker Prize nominees. I read the blurb at this time and thought it was really interesting. I have also only heard good reviews on Instagram and want to see what all of the fuss is about.

  1. A Farewell to Arms by Ernest Hemingway

Screen Shot 2017-03-07 at 22.57.38

Last year I read Hemingway’s the Old Man and the Sea. It since has become one of my favourite books I have ever read. Sophie has read a Farewell to Arms and has only good things to say. Therefore I cannot wait to read more Hemingway and this has to be the next one I pick up.

  1. The Golden Compass by Phillip Pulman

Screen Shot 2017-03-07 at 22.59.29

This again is a recommendation from Sophie as are most of the books we own. Sophie loves Phillips Pulman’s work and has even been to meet him in person when he visited Durham last year. She was so excited and has wanted me to read this for so long. Also not to mentioned I have also been challenged to read this by my sister Christie. It must be good right?

Anyway I am going now so I can go and finish my current read so I can go and start on one of these.

 

Danny

Leave a Reply

