Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

This one has been done and done again and I love it. I’ve actually done this tag before which you can find here. Here we go again….

(1) A novel that everyone else likes but you hate..

Never_Let_Me_Go.jpg

I am unsure where the twist is in this novel? Because I did not read one. The blurb describes the school in the novel as idyllic or maybe even ‘seemingly idyllic’ I can’t remember. It was way overhyped in my opinion and I found it bland and predictable as previously mentioned.

 

(2) A novel everyone else hates but you like….

Amongst my friends this novel is very unpopular but I truly love it. Criticisms are that its boring and too scientific but I find it moving and completely unique.

515Qx-griFL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

 

(3) An OTP that you hate

Real controversial…

82ebcf8435a2d403014064eee495d8f2.jpg

When I read this novel I did not believe Elizabeth and Darcy were well suited other than the fact they’re both kinda shitty people. Yes I am very eloquent.

 

(4) A popular genre you rarely reach for…

Sadly this answer hasn’t changed, it’s still romance. Any recommendations?

 

(5) A popular character you hate…

51kU0BML-pL._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Dimitri from the Vampire Academy books by Richelle Mead, he started off well and he got so very boring and stereotypical.

 

(6) A popular author you can’t get into

gillian-flynn-trio-w724.jpg

 

(7) A popular trope you are tired of seeing…

The Chosen One or the person who becomes better than their teacher at something straight away aka The Chosen One. I feel like the novels Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, Throne of Glass and Poison Study and of course Harry Potter though this is done well here. As a refreshing view on this trope I would recommend..

22910900.jpg

Yes this is a novel about the non-Chosen ones.

 

(8) A popular book or series you have no interest in reading.

Anything by J.K Rowling. I loved (and now love slightly less) Harry Potter, it’s magical. However J.K Rowling puts me off reading more of her novels. I feel like I will read it and then she will tell me how I was supposed to read it and how diverse it was after leaving no clues to how diverse it was in the book itself. I don’t think she needs to be so quick to defend herself all the time when the popularity of her books prove how well loved they are regardless. Stop trying to prove you’re a good person as that was never in question, also stop getting into twitter wars.  It’s the old death of the author debate.

 

(9) What adaptation do you think is better than the book?

Most recently it has to be The Man in the High Castle by Philip K Dick. I am yet to see all of the first series but what I have watched I loved and I hated the novel. The adaptation is completely different and I would recommend it (so far.)

What are some of your unpopular opinions?

 

Sophie

One thought on “Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

Leave a Reply

