The DNF Year

As an experiment I have decided that 2017 is the first year of my life in which I will allow myself to DNF books and as an extension STILL mark these as read on my Goodreads account. I will mark them as read simply because I do not want to look at them on my ‘currently reading’ shelf when I can’t even bare to read them. I have decided to undergo this experiment as the result of some severely disappointing reads. Controversial as it may be to our world of bibliophiles I have decided that it is acceptable to lay one book aside and begin another with no intention of finishing the first. As this goes against my personal experience with reading to date, if I have a problem with it then I can return to these books in a different year of my life.

Nevertheless, for fun and perhaps even discussion, here are the first two DNF books of the year which were so thoroughly disappointing (personally) that they made me change my whole philosophy on reading:

Brandon Sanderson’s Steelheart and Ruta Sepetys’s Salt to the Sea

Both of these books have their own fanbase, as does absolutely everything I can think of proving that this alone ultimately does not prove their worth. Regardless my account of the quality of these novels is definitely an unpopular opinion. The truth is I have stopped caring about unpopular opinions, I do not care that some of my closest friends despise my favourite novel of all time and of course some of my other favourites. If you cannot accept that I personally truly hated these novels, including their characters and writing style and you cannot turn your disbelief into intelligent discussion then you’re probably an asshole.

What sparked this post was the fact that I lost followers on my Instagram account yesterday due to my opinion on the classic novel Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov which may very well be the next victim of my DNF year. It’s not that I care about my instagram following, as my sporadic posts and presence on the app prove, it’s more that I found it interesting that people could distance themselves from other people based on what they  think of certain novels deemed as Classic literature. Regardless of which Classic novel you read, you can at the very least gain good discussion from it. The belief that no two people can read the same book should fuel us. Perhaps I will write a review of Lolita and perhaps not.

Sophie

 

 

Leave a Reply

