February TBR

I am writing this post having finished only one book and intentionally leaving two more unfinished in January, all of which I did not like. In fact I unfortunately hated all three: Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson, Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare and Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys. In comparison, during the month of January 2016 I read a total of 15 novels. Despite a terrible start I am surprisingly over the moon at the thought of possible reads for February. This year I am looking forward to reading tried and tested literature and will believe myself productive if nothing else for getting round to such staple, long-awaited reads.

I intend to start the month off with:

Mervyn Peake’s The Gormenghast Trilogy:

This book was gifted to me by my younger-though-wiser sisters. Gothic literature is easily my favourite genre and there are several aspects about this particular edition (Vintage Classics) that have already peaked my interest including the fact that it is illustrated by the author. I am really happy with this concept and though I am a huge lover of art and art inspired by novels I am usually happier reading a novel without illustrations, having the illustrations done by the author however is, in my personal experiences, a rare and welcomed occurrence. Also the cover, a conventionally secretive Vintage Classics design does not give too much away. The layout and font sizing of this edition make it seem easy enough to choose to read it as one novel or three. It’s safe to say this trilogy centring around a crumbling castle and it’s ruler and the macabre is one of my most highly anticipated reads.

 

Daphne Du Maurier’s Rebecca:

My first ever Du Maurier novel is an international bestseller that has never gone out of print! The heroine of Du Maurier’s novel finds herself married to a widower whose first wife Rebecca’s memory is forever kept alive by the forbidding housekeeper Mrs Danvers…I expect this to be a quick read based on the intrigue created by the plot.

 

John Steinbeck’s Cannery Row:

I would like to read more of my currently owned Penguin Drop Caps editions, of which this is one, although in all honesty having only read one of Steinbeck’s novels: Of Mice and Men (approximately nine years ago) I simply want to read more. 

 

Wish me luck!

 

Sophie

One thought on “February TBR

Leave a Reply

