April Wrap-Up

Yes, this post is very late, forgive me. I feel like I have been in a reading slump for a long time although I have read 65 books so far in 2016 therefore I’m not actually reading less than usual I am just in an odd mind-set that often makes me reluctant to pick up my current reads. Nevertheless here is an account of the books I read throughout April…

The Radio by M.Jonathan Lee- I hope to read the other books in this trilogy and post a series review.

Tokyo Ghoul Vol. 3 by Sui Ishida- Another terrific volume, I highly recommend this Manga series.

Cirque du Freak by Darren Shan- I recently posted a review of The Darren Shan Saga books 1-6 that you can read here.

The Vampire’s Assistant by Darren Shan (2)

Tunnels of Blood by Darren Shan (3)

Through the Woods by Emily Carroll- my first ever graphic novel! I enjoyed this collection of short stories although it was not as good as I had hoped it would be. My favourite story was the one with the creepy song.

Fairest Vol. 1 by Bill Willingham- I enjoyed this read too and will definitely be reading Fables, the series that inspired this spin-off series, soon. The artwork was fantastic and very colourful which only added to the fantasy world in which our story is set.

Vampire Mountain by Darren Shan (4)

Trials of Death by Darren Shan (5)

American Vampire by Scott Snyder- This was an interesting read with a refreshing take on Vampirism. The dialogue was fantastic (as expected with King’s input) it was both dark and comical. While I may not purchase the series I would read the next instalment if I found it at my local library.

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell- I gave this book three stars, it was what I expected it to be, an easy-read with an interesting protagonist who has a bigger persona online than in real life. I did not appreciate the patronising boy-drama that seems crucial to any teenage girl centred YA novel. I did appreciate the fact that this novel shows a teenage girl who suffers from anxiety as well liked despite the fact she is an introvert. It chronicles some major struggles anxiety sufferers face. The family relationships portrayed in the novel were also generally well done.

The Vampire Prince by Darren Shan (6)

Gate 7 Vol.1 by CLAMP- In all honesty I just did not understand this one. Perhaps there is more plot in the continuations? this seemed to very vaguely introduce you to three supernatural beings and a parallel dimension without giving you any real information of who they are, why the parallel dimension exists, or why the seemingly normal protagonist has stumbled upon it. Instead the basis of the plot was look one of these supernatural beings- the only girl in the whole manga- is cute. That was her main characteristic.

Wolverine and the X-Men Vol. 1 by Jason Aaron- This was my first Marvel read and I really enjoyed it, it was quirky and fun and the artwork was good. I will be reading more.

We Need New Names by NoViolet Bulawayo- This book started out well for me and then I found myself, at times, getting a little bored. A tale of national identity and immigration the plot centres around some very important issues and does this well. I do not believe Darling to be a very likeable character and find her reactions to American culture interesting but her actions unforgivably selfish. I thought the friendships depicted in the novel were one of the books major strengths.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo Vol. 1 by Denise Mina- I have never read the Millennium Trilogy before so went into this graphic novel blind. I loved it, the artwork was incredible and the colour pallet very appropriate to the general mood of the story and was very intrigued by the plot, I will be reading Volume 2 as soon as possible, which I expect to be better than the first due to the continuation of the plot.

Hunters of the Dusk by Darren Shan (7)

Allies of the Night by Darren Shan (8)

Killers of the Dawn by Darren Shan (9)

Tokyo Ghoul Vol. 4 by Sui Ishida-This series is consistently entertaining and each volume is inarguably purposeful. I will definitely be continuing with the series and hope to read Volume 5 in May.

Therefore I read three Mangas, 12 novels and five graphic novels which was really exciting as I had never read any graphic novels before, I will definitely continue reading this genre. I hope to read more Classic Lit throughout May.

 

Leave a Reply

