Slay that Series Day 4

Today is the fourth day of the slaythatseries readathon which means we are officially halfway through.

Sophie:

So far I have read Pohler’s ‘The Purgatoriam,’ Agatha Christie’s ‘The Mysterious Affair at Styles’  and book two and three of ‘The Maze Runner Trilogy.’ Which means I FINISHED A SERIES.

The-Maze-Runner-Trilogy

I finished reading The Maze Runner trilogy yesterday and honestly really enjoyed it. The Scorch Trials was my least favourite book of the trilogy, even so I rated it 3/5 stars. We also watched The Scorch Trials movie adaptation last night and it was completely different from the book! My sister and I, who have both read the book, liked it despite its differences and can’t wait to find out what will happen to a particular Glader. I preferred the first movie ‘The Maze Runner’ over the book but found ‘The Scorch Trials’ book better than its adaptation.

The final book of Dashner’s trilogy ‘The Death Cure’ made me cry on page 27! I was happy with the way the series was rounded up and preferred the ending to that of The Hunger Games. One thing that I disliked about the series was the epilogues, I dislike epilogues in general but even more so in instalments of a series. I am excited to see the movie adaptation that will be released next year.

IMG_0896

I am currently reading Margaret Atwood’s ‘The Year of the Flood’ this is book two of the MaddAddam trilogy. Thus far I’m not enjoying it as much as book one, ‘Oryx and Crake.’ I hope to finish my current read within the next two days and hope to read book one of M. Jonathan Lee’s ‘The Trilogy’ titled ‘The Radio.” This is definitely a highly anticipated read for me as Lee’s novel ‘A Tiny Feeling of Fear’ has been my favourite read of the year so far.

I will also try to read either Marissa Meyer’s ‘Scarlet’ which is book two of The Lunar Chronicles or book one of  Cassandra Clare’s The Infernal Devices trilogy, ‘Clockwork Angel.’ Unfortunately I don’t think I will have time to read ‘Young Sherlock Holmes: Red Leech’ before the readathon draws to a close on Sunday night.

Danny:

I am doing very poorly in the Slay that Series challenge in that I have only read 3 chapters of the Hunger Games. I was hoping to have finished the first book by now and be well through Catching Fire. Things have not gone to plan on the reading form this week, however I have a nice three day weekend and am going to try my best to get as far through the series as possible.

On another note, at the beginning of this challenge I was completing ‘A Tiny Feeling of Fear’ by M Jonathan Lee and I absolutely loved it. Sophie recommended this book to me and I was left stumped and surprised, it was brilliant. I would definitely recommend this book and this author. Sophie has recently bought another novel by M Jonathan Lee called ‘The Radio’ which I am also excited to read.

 

Leave a Reply

