Slay that Series Readathon!

I stumbled across the SlaythatSeries readathon on the wonderful Sarawithoutanh‘s booktube channel. This readathon is pretty self-explanatory, to read new series and instalments and/or complete series you have already started. This readathon runs from March 13th-20th giving us eight days to read as many instalments as possible.

The books I have selected for this challenge are:
Maze-Runner-The-Scorch-Trials-Poster
‘The Scorch Trials’

This is book two of the original Maze Runner trilogy by James Dasher. I am looking forward to this book despite the mainly negative reviews I have heard as I enjoyed its prequel and have the movie adaptation to watch after reading which always helps me to be motivated.

 

‘The Death Cure’

b32cdd26427751.563550a74a110The conclusion to Dashner’s Maze Runner series.

The_Year_of_the_Flood-cover-1stEd-HC

 

‘The Year Of The Flood’

Book two of Margaret Atwood’s dystopian MaddAddam series. I read the first instalment  ‘Oryx and Crake’ last week and am very excited to read more!

 

13206760

 

‘Scarlet’

Book two of The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. I read ‘Cinder’ last summer and was pleasantly surprised. The Lunar Chronicles are science-fiction fairytale retellings and I believe ‘Scarlet’ is a retelling of Little Red Riding Hood so I am highly anticipating this novel.

 

51qCzObiy2L._SX317_BO1,204,203,200_

 

‘The Radio’

This is the first book in the ‘The’ trilogy by one of my new favourite authors M. Jonathan Lee. ‘A Tiny Feeling of Fear’ was sent to me through Goodreads and Lee was kind enough to sign my copy. Having added ‘A Tiny Feeling of Fear’ to my all-time favourites shelf on my Goodreads page I am looking forward to reading more of Lee’s work. The Radio was shortlisted for The Novel Prize in 2012

 

6a00d8345169e469e2013489061e77970c

Finally, I hope to read ‘Clockwork Angel’ by Cassandra Clare.

This is the first instalment of Clare’s ‘The Infernal Devices’ trilogy which precedes ‘The Mortal Instruments.’ As ‘Lady Midnight,’ the first book of the follow up series ‘Dark Artifices’ was released yesterday, I thought it apt to read the prequels before buying it. I read ‘The Mortal Instruments’ series in January of this year and while I enjoyed it I’ve heard ‘The Infernal Devices’ is much better.

Danny also hopes to take part in this readathon as he hopes to read Suzanne Collins’ ‘The Hunger Games’ trilogy. He has chosen to read Collins’ trilogy as the last movie ‘Mockingjay: Part Two’ is released later this month in the UK and, as its the only movie we are yet to see, we are looking forward to it.

hunger_games_trilogy

One thought on “Slay that Series Readathon!

Leave a Reply

