5Books7Days Update

Hi Everyone,

I would like to tell you all that I have already finished by 5 Book TBR for the challenge set by lottelikesbooks but that would not be true. Unfortunately that thing called my Job has got in the way again. Damn you job, I just wanna sit on the couch and read but you make me go and do work and stuff. I want to find out what Montag is going to do and see how Liesel differs in literary form compared to the movie adaptation rather than writing legal articles.

So far this week I have read the end of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, this wasn’t in my TBR, I simply just didn’t have time to finish it before Monday. I have also read Politics and the English Language by George Orwell which has a whopping total of 29 pages. This was on my TBR, and though not the easiest read in the world it was intellectually fascinating and I will probably look for it again in the future. Over the last two days i have started reading Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury but this has been stalled by, yeah you guessed it, work again. I have only read 67 pages up to this point though I find it much easier to read than Orwell’s essay. I cannot help but think it’s not quite as good as 1984, though I do feel that I am being harsh on it before I have finished.The idea of Fahrenheit 451 being the temperature in which paper burns and the story being that books are banned is very clever. Though the book is well thought out and well written it just doesn’t speak out to me as much as other dystopian novels so far. I hope that the proceeding 90 odd pages will help to redeem itself.

I have also been made to listen to Mindy Kaling’s Audio Book version of ‘Why not me?’ I say made to listen to it, now that I have I have found it very funny and much more entertaining than listening to the ridiculously bad top 40 that plays on the radio station I normally listen to. I really enjoy the Mindy Project and learning more about Mindy’s story of getting her show on the air is both funny and quite depressing at times. Her and BJ Novak’s friendship is amazing and something I would like to think some of my friends would do, or I would do for my friend. Normally I would class an audiobook as cheating in a readathon but seen as though I have hardly read any of my TBR as planned I will just have to add it in sneakily just to prove to you all that I do actually read.

Sophie can show off by boasting that she is on her 6th Book of the week and she has read two books so far that were not even on her TBR for the challenge and with the weekend to finish the next two she is in good standing. Of course Sophie reads a lot more than me because she has read more books and has been an avid reader for longer. I try to keep up with her pace but I am just not there yet. I hope to improve though I will never surpass her speed. Sometimes I wonder if she has actually taken in the book or whether she just lifted it to her nose and inhaled the sweet book smell she craves so much and the story goes magically into her head. Now when I ask her what the book is about she replies ‘I don’t want to say because I want you to read it too.’ Brilliant more recommendations, there needs to be more hours in the day for books.

I realise this ‘update’ was mainly me just moaning about how poorly I have done and that I had to work which I am sure everyone else also had to and I apologise. Though this is a true reflection of how this challenge has gone for me though I do aim to try and finish the Book Thief by Markus Zusak by the end of the weekend.

Wish me luck 🙂

Danny

Leave a Reply

