5books7days update!

So we are now three days in to Lottelikesbooks 5books7days readathon and this is where we are at:

Sophie: Currently I am simultaneously reading books three, four and five of the challenge. Also I shamefully confess that two of my current reads were not in my original TBR. I began well, I read The Last Summer of Us by Maggie Harcourt (4/5) and The Revenant by Michael Punke. If you would like to see a review on either of these books then please comment. Or visit my goodreads page for a short review on The Revenant (2/5.) However, I managed to injure myself yesterday and it was pretty gory. Do not read The Revenant when wounded. You will most definitely get horrifying nightmares. I should probably say what you are all thinking which is that compared to Glass’s my injury was nothing and this overreaction makes me extremely pathetic.

It was during this time that I put down The Revenant, because of the injury but also because it’s such a heavy and depressing read and I was already infuriatingly self-pitying. So I did the only reasonable and logical thing and instead joined Audible. I downloaded Mindy Kaling’s second novel Why Not Me? that she narrates herself. This better suited the mood I was in, Kaling is so witty, funny and relatable I was instantly cheered up. I am currently 3 hours in which is just over half-way. I have already laughed and cried.

I finished The Revenant this morning and started reading Sky Burial which is one of my beautiful penguin drop caps by Xinran. This book is amazing! Xinran, for those of you who don’t know, is one of China’s most successful journalists and Sky Burial is her novel about a story she was told by Shu Wen a Chinese woman who spent over 30 years searching for her husband in Tibet. I am also half way through this novel and I am in awe, the relationships in this novel are incredible. I don’t know if I have ever rooted for someone as much as I do for Shu Wen. I would recommend this novel to anyone, the imagery is incredible and I promise you will surely care for the characters as deeply as I do.

The third book I am currently reading which was not on my TBR arrived today. I won this book through Goodreads and the author has very kindly signed my copy. The novel is titled A Tiny Feeling of Fear and it is written by M.Jonathan Lee. I am really excited about this book so I decided to start reading it straight away. I will do a full review at the end because I know it is not as well known as it should be (based on the first three chapters) So far I think it’s similar to A Series of Unfortunate Events and Me and Earl and The Dying Girl (Both of which I love)

The two books that are left from my readathon TBR are Young Sherlock Holmes: Death Cloud and A Spool of Blue Thread, if all goes well maybe I can read them too. Only time will tell. Danny is a little behind schedule and will post his update later tonight.

Leave a Reply

