Movie Adaptation Monday

Hi, 

We are the Tumiltys. In fact one of us is a Tumilty the other is a liar. The truth is we are engaged and as we are both literary obsessed nerds we felt a  play on words was essential when setting up our book blog. This is how Tumiltuousreads came to be. So to answer your question, yes it was a conscious decision to misspell tumultuous, decide for yourself whether or not you can forgive us.

Our first post is about our new tradition, as new roommates we have decided to start participating in Movie-Adaptation Monday (self created.) We have been doing this for two weeks, so far we have watched movie adaptations of two classic novels, first on the list were American classic To Kill A Mockingbird and Webb’s modern classic The Graduate. As we are drawing closer to Harry Potter Book Night I can only assume we will be watching The Philosopher’s Stone after a quick re-read later in the week. With Harry Potter Book Night on the 4th of February we don’t have enough Monday’s left to watch all of the films so we are going to watch one a week until the week of HPBN then we will watch one every night to ensure watching them all finishing on 4 February with a double bill of the Deathly Hallows.

For our first Movie-Adaptation Monday we watched The Graduate starring Dustin Hoffman and directed by Mike Nichols. I (Danny) was a little late in reading Webb’s Modern Classic but thoroughly enjoyed it, I definitely found it hard to put down and read it in 2 nights. Sophie had been desperate to watch the film earlier however held off until I got round to reading it, she too enjoyed the book thoroughly. Of course the anticipation was sure to be met with disappointment as the book was too good to be easily adapted onto screen. As expected the book still reigned supreme but out of 10 for an adaptation I (Dan) would give it a 7, however Dustin Hoffman’s portrayal of Benjamin Braddock was 10 out of 10, in fact regardless of the age difference between Dustin and the character he plays, his acting prowess exceeds that of his experience and of the rest of the cast. My perception of Benjamin Braddock when reading the novel was matched by the portrayal from Dustin and he is who made the film as good as it is. As a stand alone film regardless of the novel I would definitely give it 9 out of 10. 

Our second Monday we watched To Kill a Mockingbird starring Gregory Peck as Atticus Finch, directed by Robert Mulligan. After reading Harper Lee’s All American Classic for my Law and Literature course at University and absolutely loved it, Atticus Finch being my favourite character and the topic of my coursework meant that my expectations were high for the film. I loved Gregory Peck’s portrayal of Atticus however the film as a whole has definitely not aged gracefully. The best scenes in the film replicate the best scenes in the book and for that I was grateful however I believe I (Danny) would only give this Movie-Adaptation a 6 out of 10. I worry for the outcome of Go Set a Watchman and have yet to read, however it is definitely on my TBR this year.

The Graduate was one of my favourite reads of 2015 and being so of course I would then recommend it to Danny. I read this novel as I have wanted to watch the movie for a number of years given my love for Paul Simon and Dustin Hoffman. Time did not lead to disappointment and I found our first official Movie-Adaptation Monday exceeded expectations. However I was less impressed with To Kill A Mockingbird. Although this can once more be traced back to my thoughts on Harper Lee’s classic novel. I definitely enjoyed reading the All American classic however the ending left me underwhelmed, I found the court case to be far more entertaining than the life of Boo Radley. I did however fall in love with Scout, Jem and of course Atticus. This is the reason why our copy of Go Set a Watchman remains unread, we are both wary of the supposed character changes. Considering my thoughts on the novel (which I personally would give a 7 out of 10 at my most generous) I enjoyed the movie more than I expected. The scene in court again being my favourite.

We hope you like our new Idea and even find enjoyment in following our Journey through books, we have both set ourself targets for the amount of books to read this year. Danny has set himself a target of 146 books, he came to this due to that being the number of followers he had on Instagram as the clock struck midnight on New Years Eve. I however have chosen a modest challenge of 100 books for 2016. Though I am competitive and will try my best to beat Danny in all efforts.

3 thoughts on “Movie Adaptation Monday

Leave a Reply

